Blog? Seriously?

I always wanted to blog so here goes but WARNING … I still cannot find the time to blog so it will be sporadic at best.  I am quite sure I hear sighs of disappointment (yes, read with sarcasm).  I am interested in a variety of topics and very interested in others opinions on those topics.  I like to learn.  I like to hear opinions and to hear others’ point of view.  I like a good debate.  I firmly believe we can all agree to disagree.  For example, we can disagree on big subjects (religion, politics, parenting and so many other subjects) but we can still be friends because we have agreed to disagree on those subjects and we respect and actually embrace our differences. The point is, we can disagree with someone’s choices, beliefs, lifestyle, etc. and still get along and ALWAYS treat each other with respect and compassion.   We all need to respect our differences.  That is what makes friendships great –  honest friendships.  Friendships … one of the things that makes this world great.

My kids reallly don’t like the fact that I love to talk about feelings.  Actually, they do not like the fact that I can talk forever to just about anyone about anything.  I am truly interested in people.  What makes them do the things that they do?  Why did they make that decision?  Why do they think the way that they do?  What brought them here?  I like to ask questions, I like to gather information.  A blog seems to be the perfect forum to post, to get comments and to hear others opinions.

I know that every choice I have made in life is why I am where I am today.  The good, the bad, the ugly etc.  I want to teach my kids that every choice has consequences – every choice leads you down a path.  If I could, I would want to spare them the heartache of bad decisions but I also know, the bad decisions are important too.  They can teach us many things – that you can learn from them immensely and bounce back from bad decisions (and hopefully, not repeat bad decisions).  Be proud of the good decisions.  Always try to do the right thing – sometimes the right thing is not just what is good for you, but is what is good for all.

More later …

Leave a comment